Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Welcome to American Indian Dogs

Register or login now and gain instant access to our features!

Some Newbie Research Question - Aids Working Drive

Hi!

First off - i am not looking to get a dog any time soon. I am currently studying for a degree in canine behaviour and training and working partime as any number of things (Mostly a groomer, training assistant, kennel hand or dog walker :S )

But i am always about looking forward and trying to find out as much as i can to make informed decissions and plan ahead!

I have seen AIDS used in many capacities but mostly they seem to be companions. One thing that has always fascinated me, and the reason i like the more 'naturalistic' dog breeds is that they generally have the intelligence and drive to handle many different tasks whereas modern dog breeds (And i know the AID, whilst close to the original is still a modern take on it...) can usually only handle the job they were created for, if they can even do that thanks to looks based breeding.

I was wondering what are some 'jobs' which the AID have done and can excell at. I am not so much talking about therapy dogs and such, but herding, retrieving, drafting, sled pulling, tracking etc. etc.

Thanking you in advance,

Sineadmcdos

I like to spend time in the woods, so, my dogs are both great trackers/hunters. My older dog, in particular, will take direction across a field, by hand signal. It was easy to teach him, by taking advantage of his prey drive. He loves a good chase, and will work with me to arrange one.

He quarters, and flushes pheasant, like a champ, but is not limited to birds. He will tell me what animal he is tracking. Or rather, I go down the list, and he lets me know when I've hit the right one.

He is also a natural herder, although we have not taken the time to develop that skill.